Papua New Guinea’s Parliament elects James Marape as new Prime Minister

Papua New Guinea has a new Prime Minister, James Marape, but the ruling People’s National Congress-led Government appears to have survived.

Papua New Guinea has a new Prime Minister, James Marape

James Marape MP

James Marape was this morning elected PNG’s Prime Minister after the resignation yesterday of Peter O’Neill, who had led PNG since 2011.

Marape, whose resignation as Finance Minister back in April was catalyst for Opposition moves against Peter O’Neill, is the member for the Tari-Pori Open electorate in Hela Province, representing the People’s National Congress Party.

He won the vote in Parliament this morning by an overwhelming majority of MPs over the other nominee, Sir Mekere Morauta, 101 votes to 8. He is the eighth man to be elected Prime Minister since PNG’s independence in 1975.


Add Comment